Why serving as a Marine helped me with my book

 

When I started writing Highest Betrayal I incorporated military experiences in with my characters. The reason I did this, is because as a former Marine I felt it would make the book and the characters more exciting. Not just because I could relate to the characters being military, but through my experiences while serving in the Marine Corps. I served on the front lines of the war of terrorism, and the war in Iraq. So as I wrote book, I thought to myself, how do my experiences help me in the writing. Then I remembered all the briefings and instructions I sat through that went through what we should be prepared for. Real world experiences also played a large role in helping me in writing the book as well, such what we should expect if a vehicle approaches our convoy, how to handle prisoners and information that we collected. So as I wrote the story, I just thought  to myself, the characters would have received the same briefing just as I have, and more since they are now part of a intelligence agency.  And the actions taken by the characters is what I would have done too if I found myself in the same predicament. As the book went further along, I continued to think based on my training, what would I do, what would the characters do based on their training. So having that real world experience especially military training helped me in writing my book Highest Betrayal. 

Highest Betrayal is available for purchases from the following locations:

 

https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/highest-betrayal-aaron-albers/1123133343?ean=9781612966243

 

http://www.blackrosewriting.com/suspensethriller/highest-betrayal?rq=highest%20betrayal

 

 

Leave a Reply

