Developing my characters

I got asked by a coworker who bought my book, along with my better half asking questions about my characters that I have chosen, along with their traits. Well I can tell you this in the respect on how I developed my characters. I started first with a character outline of what I wanted my characters traits and background to be like. Such as hero character in my book. I made him former army special forces with a background in languages and intelligence gathering. From there I gave him a background and worked out a name. Took a few times before I found a name that fit. Same thing with the heroine in my story. I developed her background, and traits, along with her name but added a small twist to it. I wanted to add some romance between the hero and the heroine.  My villains aka bad guys, I did the same thing as them, but as I developed them, I wanted to give them a story to kind of tell the readers why they are like this. In spy novels, its always someone trying to take over the world or the money supply, or destroy something. In military books, its always the enemy or the terrorist. But for me what if it was something much different, and it had nothing to with political ideologies or personnel beliefs. What if it was just plain anger from something that happen to them.

Now for the story’s supporting characters. The development was not as intense in their development but they each have their own traits and flaws if you can pick them up. I wanted not only my readers to find a character they can root for, but maybe find that supporting character they can relate too. So developing characters for a story is a process, but if you do it right, you find your characters take on a life of their own. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

